Wonder in the Woods

Living and Learning in the Pacific Northwest

Boxcar Children

After walking on the railroad tracks the other day we read The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner.  Throughout the day, Hunter kept asking me to “Read!”  The story captured his imagination so much that he woke up in the middle of the night and came into my room talking about boxcars and such.  I can’t remember exactly what now because I was half-asleep.  This morning, I asked his favorite book and he said, “The Boxcar Children!!”  This book has nudged out “The Invention of Hugo Cabret” by Brian Selznick as his favorite book.  He said Henry is his favorite  character in the book because he goes to work and runs fast.

Hunter is a care-giver.  The other day in the mountains, the same day we started The Boxcar Children, Chandler (3) scratched his foot and cried because we didn’t have band-aids with us.  Hunter tended his scratch (his idea, I was going to leave it be) with some tissue for a wound dressing.  Minutes later, Chandler  fell and cried, so Hunter helped him “out of the woods.”   Thirty minutes later, Chandler is fretting over this small amount of brush.  Hunter helped make Chandler happy by catching newts for him.  After they caught newts, Chandler forgot all about the brush and the mud and his scratches.  I have to say that I am proud of our real-life Henry as a son and a brother.

6 comments on “Boxcar Children

  1. Silvia
    April 22, 2010

    ;-) I hear that the Boxcar children are such a hit specially with boys.

    • Wonder in the Woods
      April 22, 2010

      I’m a little surprised. It is a very simple story (kinda boring for me) but for kids, it gets them thinking about making it on their own! =) Lots of practical ideas on how to “make do” with things you find… as a family we are inspired by that.

  2. Cindy
    April 22, 2010

    We didn’t read that book until about a year ago and even at 10-11 years old, they thought it was a decent book. Not a favorite, but pretty decent.

    Henry is such a WONDERFUL brother! You have a great age difference there to help instill brotherly love! My boys, being twins and reaching puberty (actually already started it) have entered such a competitive stage that their agitation with each other is worse than ever! They are constanly trying to “one-up” the other one, especially when I am involved.

    Like read-aloud time in the evenings. I have had to threaten a new rule, spurred by my husband, that if they cause me too much trouble, then I will stop the reading, they will then be responsible for reading it themselves the next day and producing a page narration on it! So frustrating when I know that read-aloud time is so important and beneficial to them. My husband has repeatedly asked why I am still reading aloud to them. And why they can’t do it themselves. If nothing else, I feel like I am staying in touch with the schooling by doing this in the evenings.

    Anyway, that’s my current issue with the boys…

    • Wonder in the Woods
      April 22, 2010

      I think the age difference helps. They still have their squabbles too. Keep trying with the read-aloud time even if it’s less educational, more action-packed stories, whatever works for them! You might like this article and it might encourage you to keep at it (never too old!). =)

      http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/21/fashion/21GenB.html

      • Cindy
        April 22, 2010

        Oh, I have no doubt myself that the read-aloud time is worth it. It’s my husband that doesn’t really see what they are getting out of it. I tell him the point of our history read-aloud is that it is a slightly higher level of reading than they would normally be assigned (though Alex Rider could read it with ease) and that part of the important parts of discussion occurs during and after the reading selection. There are discussion questions, ideas for “reflective writing”, and I use it to practice their narration skills. Maybe he thinks I put up with too much from them just because I am trying to force the issue.

        Oh, and I forgot to mention, great name change for Henry! I love it! Especially since you got it from his new favorite book!

  3. Wonder in the Woods
    April 22, 2010

    Thanks Cindy, I like Henry better than Ham too. lol Maybe your boys with like the challenge of “The Streak.” It’s a heart-warming article.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2010 by in Books, Imagination, Learning, Life Skills.

Archives

The

More Posts by Category

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

