Wonder in the Woods

Living and Learning in the Pacific Northwest

The Daily 5 — Part 2

I finished The Daily 5 book yesterday.  Their “Read to Someone and Listen to Reading” chapter contained tips on partnering up with another young person to read.  The sisters suggest that the more experienced reader count to three before offering help and then asking the less experienced reader if they would like “coaching or time.”  At first I thought many tips in the chapter do not apply to a homeschool environment but it really depends on how many children are in the family.  I know my boys can use the “coaching or time” lesson and ways to encourage each other with reading.  Overall, this part of The Daily 5 (read to someone and listen to reading) will be the easiest for us because we already read together on a daily basis and listen to audio books in the van.  However, the tips and lessons in the book will likely help us avoid competition between the boys.

The writing chapter has a helpful tip to have the children underline words they don’t know (to fix later) which is a better than invented spelling in my opinion.  I like their ideas for word work on a string board.  The sisters did not indicate a preferred teaching method so Charlotte Mason’s methods, such as copywork, can be used with The Daily 5.   For our visual spatial child, we have a photo sticker book that he can use to make hand-written flashcards.  He can use the string board or sand on a cookie sheet for writing words too.  

For creative writing, I want to find a balance between Charlotte Mason’s assertion “never let children see a word spelled incorrectly” and Invented Spelling “it doesn’t matter how you spell the word, you’ll learn the correct way later.”  Hunter can dictate his stories to me like we do for the Language Experience Approach until he is ready for writing on his own.

I will use the techniques in the book. I like their charts in the book too.  I feel a lot better knowing more about what is typically done in public school, what does not work, and what can work.  Their “How We Have Evolved” chart shows what they did when they were first teaching, the middle growth and the final evolution of their method.  Since their method looks a lot like homeschooling times 25 kids, I feel pretty good about homeschooling and my ability to teach my children to read and write.

It’s a nice feeling to start the school year.  I’ll post again in a few weeks with how The Daily 5 is working for us.

Please note: I changed the first paragraph since this post first published.

8 comments on “The Daily 5 — Part 2

  1. Silvia
    August 31, 2010

    I love how you are tailoring your language arts and that statement of something in between CM and inventive spelling.
    I’ll be following you as always and with special interest in seeing how this approach you’ve concocted very well works for you.
    Hugs,

    • Wonder in the Woods
      August 31, 2010

      Thank you Silvia! I’m praying that this good feeling and H’s good attitude last. :D

  2. Cindy
    September 1, 2010

    Can you elaborate a bit on “the tips and lessons in the book will likely help us avoid competition between the boys”? Since my boys read aloud at totally different speeds and abilities, I would love to hear what you read about handling this!

    • Wonder in the Woods
      September 2, 2010

      The suggestions for this are very basic and intended for beginning readers. The shoe fitting lesson might be too elementary for your boys but it makes a good point too. If your boys wear different shoe sizes maybe they will get that everyone grows at different rates? If they are competitive boys and competitive with each other, I think other sibling books might be more help for you. My boys have different learning styles so my general plan is to emphasize that everyone has different interests and gifts. I hope it’s not an issue. Cindy, you could read the whole book in a hour or two, or faster with skimming it. The charts in the book are nice for getting the point(s) quickly.

      • Cindy
        September 2, 2010

        The shoe fitting lesson won’t work for my boys anyway. They are currently both wearing the same size – Men’s size 9!! LOL! And they are both the same height – 5′-2.5″. But I see your point. I haven’t had time this week to get to the bookstore, so maybe I can do it next week. I am leaving after work today to head up to the campground where the rest of the family is and actually CAMPING for the next several days! Yay!

  3. Pingback: Language Experience Approach « Wonder in the Woods

  4. Pingback: How Chandler Learned to Read « Wonder in the Woods

  5. Pingback: The Daily 5 « Wonder in the Woods

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2010 by in Book Reviews, Books, First Grade, Language Arts, Learning, Public School, Reading Instruction.

Archives

The

More Posts by Category

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

