Wonder in the Woods

Living and Learning in the Pacific Northwest

First Chapter Books

Both boys are reading their way through these chapter books (with help).  We are reading 20 minutes at a time, two to three times per day.

Hunter is reading every page.  Chandler is trading pages with me.

With this one, we are trading paragraphs. I am helping them with the bigger words.

6 comments on “First Chapter Books

  1. tricia
    October 7, 2012

    You made excellent choices in books. They will enjoy them for sure.

  2. Annette
    October 7, 2012

    Thanks for the My Side of the Mountain rec! My 9-year-old was a bit of a late bloomer with reading. He went from not reading to burning through the Magic Tree House books to reading all 7 Harry Potter books in less than a month. He then informed me he was just going to keep re-reading the HP books. Um… no. So now I have a new book to place in his hands. Thanks!

    • Annette
      October 8, 2012

      Just to update– I gave it to him this morning and just had him read the back cover. He hasn’t put it down. Thanks!

  3. Wonder in the Woods
    October 8, 2012

    Annette, that’s great! We are enjoying Jean Craighead George books. I wonder if he will also like Gary Paulsen books? Hunter LOVED “The Hatchet” and “The Cookcamp.”

    • Annette
      October 8, 2012

      I’ll try those next! He’s so funny. I asked why he liked it and he said “Mom– there’s a TRAINED FALCON.”

      • Wonder in the Woods
        October 8, 2012

        LOL! :) Then he’ll like the series. He’ll really like The Hatchet too, I think. Authors that don’t assume kids are helpless are awesome in my book. :) Not that I want my kid to run away to the Catskills or crash in a plane by himself.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 7, 2012 by in Books.

Archives

The

More Posts by Category

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

