Wonder in the Woods

Living and Learning in the Pacific Northwest

Grama’s Garden

It’s the time of year when I think about planting and gardening and this year I’m doing it!  I’m wishing for winter to be over and for everything to bloom again.  We are working extra hard this year to clean up our gardens and replant.  We moved into our home in 1998.  The beautiful gardens sold me on this old house.  Over the years the plants have gotten over-grown and our property looked neglected.  The baby years were busy, the toddler years were busy, the preschool years were busy…  Now our children can help us and, at the very least, not run off into the highway.  They can ride their bikes up and down our little lane while I garden.  The boys like to garden too and Hunter has some plans of his own. This year, our gardens and our lives can begin anew.

It’s been years since I’ve studied my favorite gardening books.  My favorite book on blooms is a magazine style book called “Arranging Flowers” by Martha Stewart Living. It has plans for a cutting garden and the photos are gorgeous.  A newer book that I’ll be referring to this year is “The Complete Illustrated Book of Herbs” by Reader’s Digest.  I also like “The Complete Book of Edible Landscaping” by Rosalind Creasy.   It looks like there is an updated version of her book.   For garden know-how, you cannot get along forever without “Sunset Western Gardening Book” which is also an updated version.  I guess 1998 is a long time ago.

I remember many of the names of the flowers I love and I’m reading for a quick refresher.  I also downloaded some cottage garden plans from BH&G for a visual idea about spacing.  I will turn over the soil by hand to bury the grass and weeds, instead of using a rototiller to basically “seed” the new ground with weeds.  I will let the rest rest for a few weeks to hoe out any regrowth before planting.

On a dry, sunny day here the soil is just right to work.  Good tools make a big difference — good sharp hoe and a comfortable shovel.  I also LOVE little these loppers.  My new diet is giving me the energy to do this!

I’m also remembering Grama’s garden.  I wonder if she remembers it?  She is at her daughter’s house now and Alzheimer’s has stolen her memories.  Here are some photos from Grama’s garden and the gardens on our lane.   The photos are from 2011 and 2012.

2011-05-19 GramasGarden 014

2011-05-19 GramasGarden 020

2011-05-19 GramasGarden 028

2011-05-19 GramasGarden 040

2011-05-19 GramasGarden 047

2011-05-19 GramasGarden 059

2011-05-19 GramasGarden 068

2011-05-19 GramasGarden 107

2011-05-19 GramasGarden 117

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had to dig up the snowball bush.  We will try replanting the root ball but ripping it out with the truck may have damaged it.  If it doesn’t grow again, I want to get another snowball bush and wisteria and plant them both in a better spot.  Wisteria, Trumpet Vine and climbing roses will need a nice trellis like this.  It will be a good woodworking project with the kids to make a few of these.

7 comments on “Grama’s Garden

  1. zk60
    March 8, 2013

    Pretty!! Wish I was there to help you!

  2. Wonder in the Woods
    March 8, 2013

    Mom, you will be here to help me enjoy the flowers and harvest this year! Maybe a little weeding too. heh Have faith! xoxo

  3. Aunt Jan
    March 8, 2013

    You are amazing! I love reading your posts. XOXO

  4. Liz
    March 11, 2013

    Hi, I’ve been reading through your blog, and it seems we have a lot in common. I think I stumbled across you either through a knitting or Charlotte Mason thread somehow. I home school two kids (2nd and 4th), am educating myself about Charlotte Mason and am trying to apply some of her principles, knit, live in the Willamette Valley, decided recently to start using Time4Learning (doesn’t seem very CM, but I think we need it), have applied to Paisley DLP (but probably won’t get in, long wait list), etc. I’ve been struggling a lot with the homeschooling lately and don’t have much support in my area. I wonder if you’d be willing to communicate by email and share some of your experiences and guidance with me? I saw your reading list and am planning to check a couple of those recommendations out from the library tomorrow. Many thanks.

  5. Liz
    March 11, 2013

    Oh, and I’m primal too! I did a Whole30 as well, last year. I cut out wheat for the whole family for awhile, but the kids and spouse are back to eating it. And we do eat dairy. Soooo hard to eliminate wheat for the kids, especially when they don’t seem to experience any health difference for eating it or not.

    • Wonder in the Woods
      March 12, 2013

      Wow, we do have a lot in common! I’d be happy to communicate via email or get together for coffee or tea and some homeschooling support. I’ll send you an email so you have my email address. I’ll send you a quick email now. I can write more later too. Nice to “meet” you. :) ~Cori

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 8, 2013 by in Blooms, Garden, Learning.

Archives

The

More Posts by Category

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

