Wonder in the Woods

Living and Learning in the Pacific Northwest

Punch Needle Shapes

This project isn’t really my style, but I wanted to figure out how to do the shapes and spacing to get the correct gauge.  The small diamond does not look that much different from the small circle, but I like the borders.  With this gauge on the needle, I will need to have larger designs.  It is easy to correct mistakes.  I’m ready to make a bath mat.  It will be medium gray hexagons two rows wide with a white background.  Simple and clean.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am glad now that I didn’t buy the lap stand for $58. This basket works perfectly and the long side of the monks cloth stays clean in the basket.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look who was watching me take pictures of my punch needle project. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The back of the work is finished by poking the ends through to the front and trimming them flush with the pile.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I followed the square lines on the monks cloth. It looks fine out of the hoop.  I learned that my stitches need to be closer together when traveling in a line, but the rows need some space or the pile is too dense.  This spacing turned out just right on the front side even if it looks too wide in some places.  I like this standard worsted weight yarn (double strand for this gauge) instead of the bulky, knobby yarn that I used on my first project.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 comments on “Punch Needle Shapes

  1. woolythymes
    June 26, 2013

    Russian embroidery……on steroids!!! Love it!!!

  2. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    June 26, 2013

    I’ve done a lot of handwork but have never heard of this before. It looks great fun…roll on the days when I can get back into all my crafting. :D

    • Wonder in the Woods
      June 26, 2013

      Winter is the best for that isn’t it!! We’ve had some rainy days this week so I’m getting in extra craft time even if it is officially summer here. LOL

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2013 by in Handcrafts.

Archives

The

More Posts by Category

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

